Computer game design

Research, Task 1 

Here I’ve found information from the trailer of “BloodBourne” that is about a Fantasy RPG game, which uses Photorealism as its graphics style. I was influenced by this video game because of its genre and its dark city which was based on Transylvania, famous for its history.

BloodBourne uses myths and fantasy creatures as the enemy, which is where I got the idea to add it to my product. Boodbourne has also influenced me by how they created their own weapons from scratch, this allows player’s to add their own style.

BloodBourne In-Game Weapon

BloodBourne In-Game Weapon

Here I have found a review on the RPG, open-world game: “Skyrim.” This game influenced me with how many players enjoyed the game, due to how they could explore the world and make their own decisions, which is why I’m considering on making my video game a open world game too.

"MYM" Page 48

“MYM” Page 48

The photo above is page 48 of the game magazine: “MYM.” Here I have found the games “Final Fantasy VII Remake” and “Fallout 4.” Final Fantasy has two incorporated graphic styles of Photorealistic and Cel-Shaded.

The Photorealistic graphics are used for the environments probably for immersion, and Cel-shaded graphics to focus on the characters of the video game. The developers have mixed the graphics together into one game to give Final Fantasy a realistic look but keep the uniqueness from the manga art style.

The environments would work for my video game as I am aiming for sound player immersion, as my genre is Supernatural and needs to be more realistic. The character designs however are not what I’m aiming for, as they look too much like Cel-shaded.

Fallout 4 is what I’m aiming for with my game with all objects and characters, as its fully Photorealistic and gives the game the effect of real life.

Fallout 4 also shares the same target audience with my video game, of 18 and above, however Final Fantasy aims for the ages 16 and above, which will have restrictions in the PEGI Rating my game is given.

"MYM" Page 49

“MYM” Page 49

Above is page 49 of the MYM magazine and includes two examples of RPG games. The game to the left is “Kingdom Hearts III” which is a Cel-shaded, fantasy game and doesn’t have anything in common with my game due to its graphic style and its target audience is 12+.

The Kingdom Hearts series’ uses an art style regularly used in Japan called “Manga”  for their characters as the developers are in Japan and it is native there and also very used in the RPG genre.

On the left side of the page above is a game called “Horizon Zero Dawn” which is another RPG, though it uses the Photorealistic graphic style so detailed that the video game which is being released for 2016, cannot be produced for formats used in the Xbox 360 and Playstation 3. I need to understand the limitations of the technology I will be using, as I want to achieve the same brilliant graphics.

Here is a video of some of its gameplay.

I’m planing to produce a video game with the RPG and hack and slash genre  with a supernatural theme. I’ve researched whats already in the market so I can find some inspiration and avoid any copy right mistakes.

This is a video game called “Devil May Cry” which is a action-adventure hack and slash. I like this video game as it has given me inspiration to create a supernatural story however I have involved demons, as theres not many games out there that have already done this. My target audience ( 18+ ) really enjoy the supernatural demons.

I also like Devil May Cry’s main character, Dante, as he has an attitude which brings comedy into the story and gameplay. Dante also has a appearance of an over-confident, mysterious character which brings additional emotions, something I want my character to bring to my project.

dante_evolution__in_dmc_reboot___part_2__by_rehman_1999-d6rulgf

Devil May Cry’s “Dante” Character Evolution.

Even though I like Devil May Cry’s main characters I don’t like the enemies. I feel it could do much better than the original designs, as they just look like dolls with knifes.

Stygian_CA_02_DmC

Devil May Cry’s “Stygian” Profile Photo.

So I’m planning to bring my myths into the video of zombies, demons, witches, dragons, vampires and werewolf to create a difference to other video games.

I have also found the post-apocalyptic RPG called “Fallout series.” This game is what inspired me to feature an apocalyptic world in my own as it adds buildup and excitement.

The world actually feels abandoned and struggling for survival which draws the player into the game. I’ve also consider making my game into a series if it is successful, as Fallout improved and became more popular for every game they created for there series.

fallout world

Fallout Screenshot Of Environment.

There was another an open world RPG called “Skyrim.” This video game is what inspired me to use myth like creatures for enemies: like dragons, werewolfs, vampires, zombies etc because it makes Sky more entertaining for the player as they would have to use different techniques, to fight different enemies.

skyrim dragon

Skyrim In-Game Monster.

I’m going to make my game in modern times instead of Skyrim’s medieval time era to create a difference between the two. I also believe my target audience will enjoy the game more if its in a modern time.

“Dark Souls” is an RPG game called which inspired me to use knight armour and swords as one of many of the available weapons, because swords are very popular when sword and armour are involved so I want my game to be successful.

dark souls

Dark Souls Varying Armour Designs.

 

Task 2 

Below I have created a digital sketch of a basic building that I have based off of an apartment building, for my apocalyptic city. Its made from a simple rectangle to keep it a basic building shape.

digital sketch of a building

Basic Apartment Building Sketch.

I’ve  added windows as well to make it look more like a city building. I’m also planning to add detail to some of the roof to make them look like they’re damaged and collapsing. I’ve also added some rubble to add some realism to my buildings.

Damaged buildings digital sketch

Damaged Apartment Building Design.

I’ve also created digital sketches of lamps, benches and a bridge as simple shapes just to give my city a little bit more detail, which should draw the player into the game more as its more realistic.

To improve my games realism I’m planning on adding normal vehicles like cars and buses and also damaged vehicles, to improve the atmosphere in my video game and add an appearance of chaos in my video game.

So Below are the simple digital sketches I’ve created.

I want to be able to do this myself as it will separate mine from other games out there.

digital bus sketch

Sketch Of A Public Bus

Digital car sketch

Sketch Of A Car

Digital lamp sketch

Sketch Of A Lightpost

Digital sketch of a bench

Sketch Of A Bench.

Task 3

word document unit 72

Task 4

Presentation concept art 2

 

Leave a comment